Bad Nexen Tires

by Mike
(NC)

I should have done my homework and read the reviews about NEXEN tires. I have been reading all the comments and I am sad to say that I fell under the same situation like others. Bought 4 brand new set of NEXEN ROADIAN tires for my F-150 . I am in the military and only drives to and from work total of 8 miles. Those 8 miles is nothing but concrete road. No speed bumps, no railroad tracks, no pot holes and I have my own parking space. After buying the tires for only 2 months with less than 2,000 miles, my left rear tires started developing a bubble on the side wall. I went back to the tire dealer and I was told that it is not cover under warranty and it is road hazard. I was told to call NEXEN directly and see what they can do for me. I was told by the warranty department to take pictures last week. Today I was told that since it was a road hazard that they cannot do anything for me. No help at all. I should have stuck to GOODYEAR which I had before, NO PROBLEM AT ALL!!!

So I suggest to ANYONE to do your homework and read all the comments and reviews for all NEXEN tires.

Bottom line...to me this tires is BAD!!!


Comments for Bad Nexen Tires

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 16, 2019
Rating
star
2017 ram 3500 bought with Nexen tired NEW
by: Anonymous

Both front tires have seperation at 11000 miles . I haul My show horse with this truck . I’m not taking any chances 6 new tires to replace this crap

Oct 14, 2019
Rating
star
Junk Tire Don't buy NEW
by: L Pennock

My 2018 Ram 3500 DRW came with LT235/80r18 Nexen tires. First front slipped a belt at 10.5K miles. Second front slipped a belt at 12.K miles. Not keep the other 4 to see when they will fall apart.

Oct 10, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NEXEN Tires are Junk
by: Tony

2018 Ram Dually going down the road and truck starts to shimmy. Has only 13,000 miles. Go to Ram dealer and they say front right tire is separated. They say no warranty, Want to charge me for another tire. I tell them to put on the spare. Contacted NEXEN customer service. Basically they blew me off and sent me a claim form. I shouldn’t have to jump through hoops on this. Never, ever again!! No more NEXEN.

Oct 09, 2019
Rating
star
Bad Batch of 4 - Avoiding Warranty NEW
by: dj_prouddad

My '16 Nissan is exactly 3 years old and time to buy new tires. I really didn't get the life I should have out of the tires that came on it so I did a bit of research to get tires that not only fit within my budget, but came with an attractive warranty. Reviews seemed great with low road noise and comfortable ride as the pros and only con being poor handling in snow/ice. SOLD!

I drove the car for about a week, quick trips to and from work and 1 trip with my kids an hour away. It did feel different on the routine drives, sometimes, especially when reversing, it felt lumpy (hard to explain) but chalked it up to different tires. But the trip with my kids felt absolutely dangerous. The car was shimmying down the freeway badly, vibrating the steering wheel so I couldn't go the speed limit (70) and slowed to around 45 for safety.

Due to different county and city lines, the terrain of the freeway is different, and the tires reacted different, but closer to the big city, newest pavement, the worse it vibrated.

I took the car in immediately. They did road force balancing, and let me take it home, but it still wasn't right. Better, but issues more prevalent.

The dealership agreed to give me a loaner so I took it back for them to investigate, and found all 4 tires were separating. They ordered another set of 4 in anticipation that Nexen would honor their warranty, especially since I'd only put 200 miles on them. According to the dealership, Nexen requested video proof that all 4 were bad and they took that footage of how each tire is separating from the belt and won't balance.

It's been a few days so I decided to call Nexen myself to check the status of the claim and they can't find such thing. Dealership emailed to a person they claim doesn't work there, and sees no emails from the dealership in their inbox. He did advise me that they would cover up to two tires with no issues, but would need to send road force balancing documents to prove all 4 were bad. It seems I was not the first person he's told this to, about how they won't honor their warranty on more than 2 tires. What a waste of research!

The dealership did all they could and I'm not sure if anyone from Nexen is going to follow up as they see no claim in their system - all while my car is sitting in their bay, another set ordered and waiting to be put on my car. They've sent the documentation, mileage, maintenance records and requested videos. Nexen just doesn't want to do anything.

Get it together, Nexen! I'm not paying tons extra just to have that very dangerous drive which scared my kids!

Sep 02, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
18,883 miles NEW
by: Bobby Lester

Both front tires separating, no warranty, no problem says nexen. Will file with NHTSA. 2017 Ram 3500 dually pulling 16,600 pound RV. Alabama, USA

Aug 06, 2019
Rating
star
In reply to you guys are dumb NEW
by: Anonymous

these tires suck ass

Jul 19, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You guys are dumb... NEW
by: Anonymous

I love how none of you have posted the tire makes and models and versions. Lol if you have a new vehicle that came with those tires and your dealership won't cover these obvious issues, it's not nexen's fault. It's your dealer's fault. I am financing my Motegi Traklites with nexen tires and haven't had an issue and I've put over 1000 miles on them. But I also get a warranty from the tire shop specifically for the issues brought up in this thread. You are seriously dumb for not making sure that you have some kind of warranty on tires on a new vehicle...

Mar 19, 2019
Rating
star
Inner Wall
by: Ram 3500 DRw owner

My 2017 RAM 3500 DRW: Was coming home from church on Florida turnpike, truck start to shimmy really bad. Took it to dealership and they advised both front tires had INNER WALL separation. tires have 5732 miles on them and they are not used off road. Ridiculous that Ram allows these tires to be placed on their product. Great truck, but awful tires. Dealership is supposedly replacing them with another set of Nexen's. in a quandary if I should go out of pocket and buy a better quality tire.

Feb 19, 2019
Rating
star
Warranty not honored NEW
by: Timothy T Frost

Nexen Tire warranty is a sham! Limited number of authorized dealers. Those that are still in network will tell you Nexen doesn’t honor claims. If you have a chance tell car companies and new car dealers that Nexen tires detract from th car. Boycott Nexen tires. Nexen Tire warranty is a Sham!

Feb 11, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Nexen Tires Don't Stand Behind Its Product NEW
by: Richard

I bought my brand new 2016 RAM 3500 and it came with 6 Nexen LT Tires. One of tires got separation on rubber and it almost caused accident. I made a claim with Nexen Tire and sent the tire to Nexen Tire.

After a few weeks, they told me that the tire was repaired before. It won't cover. My truck is bumper to bumper warranty. Why should I repair the tire?


Stay away from Nexen Tire.

Jan 22, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Don't buy Nexen tires
by: Alan C

I have a 2015 Ram 3500 DRW that at 20,000 miles 1 front tire started to come apart. Thinking it was a one off problem we replaced both front tire only to loose another tire 10,000 miles later so we put the spare in service and now another 10,000 miles and 2 more are coming apart. Michelin's going on the truck in the morning.

Nov 05, 2018
Rating
star
Nexen Tires failing Ram 3500 NEW
by: Alan Smith

Purchased a new 2016 Ram 3500. At 16000 miles both front tires delaminated Ram dealer stayed no warranty on tires even when driving off lot for Nexem tires. Contacted Nexen directly. They faked that I submit several documents to request warranty claim. Still in process will advise. Tires still have 12/32" of tread.

Jul 19, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Do not buy a new vechical with Nexen tires!! NEW
by: C Keller

I bought a new $70,000 Ram Longhorn dually with Nexen tires. Less than 19k miles, I have had 3 tires go bad. They are coming apart from the inside. No warranty from Ram or Nexen. This truck is garage kept and new. Just spent $1500 on new tires on a new truck!! No more Nexen or Ram!!!!

Jul 19, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Do not buy a new vechical with Nexen tires!! NEW
by: C Keller

I bought a new $70,000 Ram Longhorn dually with Nexen tires. Less than 19k miles, I have had 3 tires go bad. They are coming apart from the inside. No warranty from Ram or Nexen. This truck is garage kept and new. Just spent $1500 on new tires on a new truck!! No more Nexen or Ram!!!!

Feb 02, 2018
Rating
star
- WALL SPLITING TYRES , DONT BUY THIS CRAP NEW
by: wesley charles

DO NOT PURCHASE THESE WALL SPLITING SHIT TYRES. 3 years ago in 2015 a new Mechanical shop started up next to my Smash Repair Shop and starting selling tyres, We asked him to get us 5 new tyres for my LATE 2011 large FORD sedan that had 60000 klm on it
The original Dunlop SPMax 235X19 tyres were on their last legs but wore fantasticly.
Now price was not disscussed with the Mechanic and neither was it the reason behind buying Nexen brand, We were giving the new Business some work.
Our Ford runs 19x8 factory rims with 40 series low profile tyres, New NEXEN N6000 235x 40 tyres were suggested and fitted
We have done appprox 10 000 klm on these tyres since because the car normally is not being used,( FORD AUSTRALIA) is not making Falcons any more, She drives a 2001 Ford Laser which the Auto cracked up in 2 weeks ago and still being fixed.
To be honest we had no issues with these tyres untill yesterday, my wife strangly got a flat upon leaving my sons home in the evening, she pulled up a few hundred meters down the road, my Son came and helped change the RH Rear wheel, there was no noises or evidence prior to suggest it was going flat on her arrival there In the morning at home I throughly inspected the tyre for any puncture signs but None what so ever, The wall was split on the inside and spliting here and there. On further inspection ( In a concertrated area, it just looks like the tyre just blew out on the inside wall, there is no tell tail damage to the rim as if she hit a gutter previously.
I Had this issue before on my XR8 Falcon UTE a few years ago now with walls spliting on cheep tyres, The local Beaurepairs Company put some new shit tyres from China on it, walls began to split. My advice don't buy tyres of Nexen Tyre Company who denies they have a big problem with these tyres

Jan 22, 2018
Rating
star
No stars bad tire NEW
by: Anonymous

I got a new set mounted by professional tire center. The sidewall imploded on one front driverside on a smoth road going 30 miles an hour. Before my travel i checked the tire pressure and it was properly inflated. The tire seam buckled inward and went flat in seconds. A different tire place said under inflated but that was not the case. The tire was defective. I changed all four tires and bought a different brand. On inspection of all the tires there is a fabric seam on the sidewall of the one that went and threads showing through the rubber. There were no signs of wear any where on the tire.

Jan 22, 2018
Rating
star
No stars bad tire NEW
by: Anonymous

I got a new set mounted by professional tire center. The sidewall imploded on one front driverside on a smoth road going 30 miles an hour. Before my travel i checked the tire pressure and it was properly inflated. The tire seam buckled inward and went flat in seconds. A different tire place said under inflated but that was not the case. The tire was defective. I changed all four tires and bought a different brand. On inspection of all the tires there is a fabric seam on the sidewall of the one that went and threads showing through the rubber. There were no signs of wear any where on the tire.

Sep 21, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
nexen are bad dont use on vehicles. NEW
by: Anonymous

We had these tires on several work trucks. I catch them before they blow. The inside liner separates from the tread part. With tire off there are bubbles a foot long or longer on the inside of the tire. When you drive, friction between the two delaminated layers builds heat....BOOM!!! Propped up on four bad ones as I type. Im the mechanic so I bring them home and mount and use on old vehicles around shop. They just need aired up tires so I can move when needed. Not full pressure. 20# or so in a 55# load range E tire. One was a little wobbly but not bad wobbly, just seemed out of balance. Other three I could feel by hand. Just had hauled a piece of equipment across Texas going 80. Been bad if it blew. Do not use these tires on vehicles. I still put them on trailers. Around here the trailer tires get tore up before they wear out.

Sep 02, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst tires ever NEW
by: Anonymous

My brand new2015 3500 Dodge Ram came with NEXEN tires,
Less than 20K miles front tires were worn out.
No responsability from eather deslership nor tire company.
Will never ever use those tires ...

Aug 29, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dangeroue product NEW
by: Geoff

2 years old, little over 4000 miles, no punctures, no pothole/curb damage, tire pressure 32 psi. Wire started protruding from the tire tread, luckily got home before it deflated. Very poor quality Chinese tire, Nexen has yet to respond to my communiques... There are much better options out there

Jun 25, 2016
Rating
star
Dangerous NEXEN tire blow-out experience NEW
by: joonyong

I bought Nexen tires(N7000 (4)) last year. When I drove on the road on 06/21/16, one of the tires blowed to with lot of smoke . It was a dangerous situation. At that time, i called the NEXEN tire company's customer service. They ignored their warranty of a defective tire. So, I could not reimburse for that (operator : David). Also, I could not trust the company's authorized dealer. They told me that I must change the defective tire to a new tire (mid city tire-philadelphia) first, then I can claim for it. But, after changing the tire, they threw away the defective tire. I could not claim.
If you wan to drive safe,
Please, do not buy them.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Write Your Own Tire Review.