Big O Aspen Touring

by Susan
(Kalispell, MT)

I have a 2008 Kia Spectra. Tread design is important to me, especially how well it dispels water. In March, 2013 I was in the market for all-season tires. I previously owned Goodyear and wanted the exact tire, but it was discontinued.

After comparing prices I decided to visit my local Big O in Kalispell, MT. I was shown the Aspen Touring with a tread similar to what I had on my car. I searched for reviews and could not find any to my dismay. I took a leap of faith and purchased four for my car. I have been very pleased. The tires grip the road in rain, and are quiet with a comfortable ride. I had one flat due to a nail puncture, and the tire was replaced for $14.00, no questions asked.

We are now entering winter and the roads have been sheets of ice. I continue to be impressed with start and stopping ease with these all-season tires, staying within the city limits. Just put my studded tires back on for winter for drives out of the city.

I consider myself a cautious purchaser. The staff at Big O in Kalispell have been great. As a woman I have often been pushed to buy what I don't need. I don't find that pushiness at this Big O.

Comments for Big O Aspen Touring

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 23, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great For The Money. NEW
by: Wayne the Welder

I'm very impressed with these 'cheap' tires. They are smooth driving and quiet!

They feel a little softer than what I had I previously but the ride feels so much better for it.

I was also surprised to see that these tires are made by Sumitumo so they have a quality parent company behind them that knows how to make a good tire.

They also have a tread wear and temp ratings of A.

If these tires hold up like they should then I can see me buying them again.

Jan 12, 2017
Rating
star
BIG O TIRE COMPANY NEW
by: Anonymous

BIG AND DIRTY, IS BIG O GREASY STREET KIDS , NO EXPERIENCE, I'LL NEVER TAKE ANOTHER CAR IN CEDAR CITY BIG O TIRE, I ALSO WAITED TWENTY MINUTES WITH AS MUCH AS A HI , WE WILL BE RIGHT WITH YOU,

Jan 10, 2017
Rating
star
aspen touring A/s NEW
by: james Leedy

Worst damned tire I have ever had! It is not worth a crap in just a small amount of snow, I have better luck with the cheapie chinese tire. Bought them from Merchants TIre I wish I hadn't

Nov 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Waste of $$$ NEW
by: Anonymous

I bought TBC Aspen Touring A/S for my 2008 Lexus ES 350 at NTB Tires. In about 2 years with only 7,223 miles. All four where all woren, the tires are loud too. Your best, investment is paying alittle more for your tires is worth it.

Oct 07, 2016
Rating
star
Aspen tires plus Big o? NEW
by: Anonymous

Purchased 2 tires on my Lexus at big o tires winchiester Temecula . After 25 miles of driving and the tire blew out, the car was out of control and went the ditch and paid the towing company $200. Aspen tire? I don't know what happen but maybe it's an installation defect or the tire it self. Big o tires replaced the tires but they did not pay for the damages of the cars. That's sucks!!!ThankGod my son is safe.

Oct 04, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Tires NEW
by: Anonymous

Living in New Mexico not much rain or snow but what little rain the tires are the best and the noise everyone is complaining about should rotate the tires more I have no noises at all with the tires

Oct 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen touring a/s tires NEW
by: Anonymous

Just bought these aspen tires for 150.00 and hoping there as good as some of the reviews I have read!

Aug 05, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen Touring A/S NEW
by: Outbacks4Life

I've put ~ 1000 miles down in a subaru outback and I have to say this is a solid Colorado tire for both BLM and highway driving. Haven't put these through snow yet, but I travel from Denver to Boulder every day and these tires feel great on the highway. Haven't experienced any of this noise everyone is raving about. I'd say its from neglecting rotations.

Jul 29, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good grip and smooth in the road, 40,000 and going NEW
by: AdamAnonymous

These tires have lasted 40k on my 2009 sonata! Since it is not a racking car, I am happy with these middle of the road tires( made by Yokohama . I paid a lot more for the yoko as530 before these and they were not any better, these actually remind of michelins they are comfortable and good driving characteristics

May 23, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen Touring A/S work NEW
by: Thomas Cassetta

I Had two Put on my Yaris with 160,000 miles on it, 8 mo. ago they look great with 10,000 miles on them. Just ordered two more.

May 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
new set - will experiment NEW
by: Anonymous

wife got set for her CR/V. noted all the comments about noise, rotation schedules, etc. They LOOK smaller than the originals from Honda. Day 1 ride is....nice...like they should be. more after 1st rotation.

Feb 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
Would not reccommend NEW
by: Anonymous

I have an 07 Jetta and replaced my Original Michelins with the Aspen a/s. I've been going crazy with the noise they produce. I also thought it might be my bearings, as others had too. If noise bothers you, do not buy these tires.

Feb 03, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
do your rotation every 3000 miles NEW
by: Anonymous

people, if you do tire rotation along with your oil change every 3000~5000 miles, then tires won't develop these "cupping" issues.
it doesn't matter what brand of tires you use, even Michelin, they will develop cupping if you don't rotate.
stop blaming the manufacturer for your stupidity

Jan 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Respond to Bad Man NEW
by: Vincent

Hey Bad Man:

There is no need to insult the person with the Kia
If you have something to say about the tires, just say it.

Jan 21, 2016
Rating
star
really NEW
by: Bad man

If a person is very picky they sure would NOT buy a terrible korean kia brand. I had 4 of the aspen tires and they whine like snow tires after about14K miles.Do not recommend these tires at all.

Oct 12, 2015
Rating
star
Noisy! NEW
by: Anonymous

I hate these tires! Which is a shame because the performance and wear is really good, but the noise is unbearable. They really do sound like you have a bad wheel bearing. I can't wait until they wear out so I can replace them.

Oct 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Loud NEW
by: Anonymous

Agree with another reviewer - very loud after ~15k miles, like the wheel bearings are bad. I even replaced the wheel bearings with no change to the noise level, so I know it's not coming from them. Otherwise these tires have been good, especially for the price.

Sep 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
aspen tires NEW
by: David Lawrence

Very noisy after using them for 15000 miles, my car sounds like I have two bad wheel bearings, Ntb says that the tires are low end tires, nothing they can do.

Sep 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good Value NEW
by: Robert H

Will Be replacing my 215/55 R 17 for my Camry. Love the Aspens.Do they ride as good or as quiet as Bridgestone or Michelin? No, but good enough for HALF the price. Paid $112 each at Big O, vs $215 for MXV or $205 for bridgestone.
Very good wear. Lasted 43k miles. The last set of MXV i bought only lasted 38,000. Michelins are a ripoff.
My only complaint is they were only grippy on cornering for about 15 k then started slipping. The factory Bridgestones were better, but only lasted 35k

Mar 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
excellent traction tire, but wear faster than expected NEW
by: Aj

I have a 2009 dodge Avenger and replaced the Pirellis that were outstanding at 60k miles. Looking to save cost but keep quality, I was shown the Aspen touring in 17 inch wheel. I've owned them 2 years now and not had any issues at losing traction in Texas heat, rain, light snow or some ice. Quiet tire. The down side has been wearing too fast. When we purchased, they were a 60k mile tire, now downgraded to 50k. I've driven 35k miles and all 4 tires are down to the wear bar at 4/32. Now I need to make a trip where the Temps are in the 20s with snow and concerned about lose in traction as the store won't prorated until I hit 2/32 which to me is not safe for long road trips away from my store. Thoughts? Going to store manager tomorrow..

Jan 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent tire...great snow performance NEW
by: J.K. Risher

Got a set for my antique 78Nissan. Great ride and wonderful wet/snow performance.

Jan 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
big o aspen touring tires NEW
by: Anonymous

My certified used car that I purchased five years ago had new Bridgestone Potenza tires on it. I am a conservative driver, but the Bridgestone Potenza, I was told, is a high performance tire as well as being rather expensive. They provided comfortable driving, but wore out on my Subaru in 20,000 miles. ism on my second set of Big O Aspens. My first set lasted 26,000 miles and provided a quality ride that was the equal of the Bridgestones. an all wheel drive car is hard on tires. I find them to be goog tires here I Montana. Great quality at a great price and go od rotation services. Also, my Big O takes care of me without buying the warranty.

Jan 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
big o aspen touring tires NEW
by: Anonymous

My certified used car that I purchased five years ago had new Bridgestone Potenza tires on it. I am a conservative driver, but the Bridgestone Potenza, I was told, is a high performance tire as well as being rather expensive. They provided comfortable driving, but wore out on my Subaru in 20,000 miles. ism on my second set of Big O Aspens. My first set lasted 26,000 miles and provided a quality ride that was the equal of the Bridgestones. an all wheel drive car is hard on tires. I find them to be goog tires here I Montana. Great quality at a great price and good rotation services. Also, my Big O takes care of me without buying the warranty.

Dec 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Big O Aspen Tires NEW
by: dmckinley

I just replaced my tires with Big O Aspen touring tires on my 2011 Honda Accord. The size is 225/50/17. The original tires were Michelin Pilot that went 50K miles. The Aspen tires work great on my car and are not too different than the Michelin tires. So far, so good.

Oct 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Instructor NEW
by: Clarence

Purchased 4 Aspen 17 inch tires for my Ford five hundred. So far they handle well good braking that all I expected. Good tire for the price

Sep 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen Touring Tires NEW
by: Anonymous

I need tires and the price was reasonably marked. I had never heard of this tire brand, but I am sure if they were not if some quality, they would not be sold at Tire Kingdom/NTB. Keep the feedback coming!

Aug 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Civic NEW
by: Anonymous

Just purchsed 4 from Merchant's Tire. $49.99/each
Wish me luck!!!

Aug 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Civic NEW
by: Anonymous

Just purchsed 4 from Merchant's Tire. $49.99/each
Wish me luck!!!

Feb 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen Touring A/S NEW
by: Mitchel Garcia


I just went through the whole process of looking at many different name brand tires and ended up choosing the Aspen Touring A/S tire and they have worked out great. I would purchase them again..
They are quite,handel well in the rain and snow and the price was easy on the pocket-book.

Feb 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Aspen Touring A/S NEW
by: Anonymous

I have to agree, I just purchased a set for my Rav4 and they have been great!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Write Your Own Tire Review.