Cooper Discoverer H/T 235/75/R15

by William
(Overland Park, KS)

I bought the Discoverer H/T for my SUV and have only one major complaint. Noise.

These tires hum loudly and I can tell how fast I'm driving buy the noise they put out. This is nerve racking and I hate the noise. The tires are advertised as noise limiting but it ended up noise enhancement. The tires are excellent quality and after 15,000 miles in 1 1/2 years, are holding up beyond my belief. I drive carefully and usually can get 65K to 85K out of tires.

I may be able to get this mileage but I am bound to deal with the noise. If it were not the noise, I would rate this a top tire. I replaced Michelin tires that did not have the noise level the Cooper does, but it looks like these tires will last longer.
Bill

Comments for Cooper Discoverer H/T 235/75/R15

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 30, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Noise tires
by: R Pelletier

I bought 4 Cooper Discoverer HTP 245/70/R17 tires from Discount Tires. At 30000 miles I developed what I believed to be a tire whine. It gets real noticable @ 25mph and gets louder as speed increases. Had it test driven by Discount Tire manager and was told it was not the tires but wheel bearings. Wheel bearings were R&Red and I still have the same noise. Is this an anomaly or are others experiencing the same problem? Tires are a 65000 mile tire and I have only 32000 on them. Tires were rotated, balanced at the prescribed time.

Jul 09, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need 1 Cooper Discoverer 235 75 R15 tire NEW
by: Tony

Need 1 Cooper Discoverer HT 235 75 R15 tire with the white lettering. Road debris damaged the tire and Cooper discontinued the make of the Discoverer HT with white lettering. My tire(s) are only 1 1/2 years old.

hercole7@att.net

Tony

Apr 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
wear,and traction NEW
by: bill

I have been driving on 225/70/15 for 18 years.i find for some reason.my tires seem to last forever,Ihave had this set on for years,i have plowed threw 2ft floods,easoily.very deep snow effortlessly.i put these tires on years ago,and st;ll the tread is bearly worn.My only negative remark would be,in the winter,they do tend to lose air,very slowly,in the rim's are aluminum.quick fix.Have the inside of the rim's cleaned.Aluminum rim's oxidize and let air out.

Apr 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
wear,and traction NEW
by: bill

I have been driving on 225/70/15 for 18 years.i find for some reason.my tires seem to last forever,Ihave had this set on for years,i have plowed threw 2ft floods,easoily.very deep snow effortlessly.i put these tires on years ago,and st;ll the tread is bearly worn.My only negative remark would be,in the winter,they do tend to lose air,very slowly,in the rim's are aluminum.quick fix.Have the inside of the rim's cleaned.Aluminum rim's oxidize and let air out.

Feb 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
New Life for Old Truck NEW
by: Anonymous

I purchased a set of 4 Cooper Discoverer H/T tires for my old 1998 Chevy Silverado and can say that I am quite pleased with these tires. The truck has low mileage (110K) but never the less the last set of tires were getting extremely loud, thus the purchase of the Cooper Discover H/T's. The difference was astounding as the ride is very quite and smooth. The ride feels as though the truck is new again. The truck is used
primarily in the summer towing a boat & trailer

Dec 11, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Noisey Tires NEW
by: Anonymous

I have never had a wheel & tire rotation and never had noisy tires.
When you rotate wheel & tire unless you just move them from back to front you keep driving the tread in different directions every time they are rotated.
As they wear they get scrubbed one way then the opposite direction when rotated, this gives you the noise.
Don't have them rotated and they will go quieter.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cooper Tires.