Michelin Tires - What has happened to the quality?

by Patrea Pabst
(Hartwell GA)

After 30+ years of buying michelin tires for cards and trucks, and getting great milage out of them, the most recent tires I purchased in 2011 for my Acura TL and my son's Mercedes Benz have shown uneven wear and very poor milage - barely a year.

Multiple calls to Michelin have results in me being stonewalled - they refuse to answer questions about what changes have been made or why there are problems - lots of us apparently, based on the crowd in the service lounge at the Acura dealership.

A warranty that is prorated on wear, where wear is excessive due to defects in the tires, is worthless.

Any one else?

Comments for Michelin Tires - What has happened to the quality?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 11, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No more Michelin Tires NEW
by: sylvester c. umacheid

I will not purchase any more Michelin tires. After the second set on my pickup and the second set on my Impala wore out with barely half of the mileage rating I have purchased another brand. I got 47,000 miles on on a set rated at 90,000. I wouldn't expect to get 90,000 but half that? Looks like I am not along. I have talked to two other peole with the same problem.

Aug 30, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Michelin Defender - Don't Buy.. Can't balance NEW
by: Billy

I am on my 3rd set of Michelins .. the tires still vibrate at different speeds. Dealer also balanced and checked front end.. still get the vibration at different speeds... I had ran Michelin before and loved them on a previous car. I didn't even check the reviews of the Defender.. shame on me.. Michelin must have cut some corners on the quality of the Defender. I will never buy Michelin again. Sheesh.. :-(

Apr 05, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Defender vibration NEW
by: Anonymous

Switched from Bridgestone Turanza to Michelin Defenders this go around on my 2010 Corolla S. Just had them try to balance them for the third time in two weeks since new. Still have vibration 65-80mph. Will try to get them to swap out to a Toyo tire. Thought I was buying the best. Sure paid enough for them. Have a set of Toyos on another vehicle-great ride! Should have stuck with the Bridgestones or Toyos! Damn!

Apr 05, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Defender vibration NEW
by: Anonymous

Switched from Bridgestone Turanza to Michelin Defenders this go around on my 2010 Corolla S. Just had them try to balance them for the third time in two weeks since new. Still have vibration 65-80mph. Will try to get them to swap out to a Toyo tire. Thought I was buying the best. Sure paid enough for them. Have a set of Toyos on another vehicle-great ride! Should have stuck with the Bridgestones or Toyos! Damn!

Mar 22, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Defender wobble NEW
by: Anonymous

yes 3 of 5 got "slipped belts" these are defender green x tires and they have uneven sidewalls

and they make noise at high and low speeds once per rotation. Minimal miles with deep tread. 2008 Nissan Altima. My 4 primacy mxm4 are doing well, though.

Jan 19, 2017
Rating
star
michelin defenders NEW
by: Anonymous

90,000 mile tires got my wife's civic 41000 miles .DONT BUY!!

Dec 10, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Michelin defenders out of round..made in mexico!!!! NEW
by: Dawn

Wow, my rainforest tires were replaced by defenders.
I have had my celica since 1993 and always used Michelin tires. These may be my last michelin tires...out of round, so says discount tire company. 5 guys standing around a tire getting balanced seemed fishy to me. He said some are out of round bUT within the acceptable rage so is not a defect bad enough to be replaced by other tires from michelin.
Had them for 1.5 years and they drive me crazy in slow traffic like I'm driving on oval tires that aren't syncronized..plus a lot louder at high speeds compared to my other tires. I hate them!!!!


Aug 14, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Michelin Defenders - Unhappy! NEW
by: Charles

Michelin Defenders - disappointed. Bought 4 brand new. I have a Subaru with MXV4's and they are great. I drive a Mazda3 with Defenders. . I have been the only owner. One (or 2) of the Defenders keeps vibrating. Discount tire was nice and last time there balanced it 3 times. Had the Defenders 30,000 miles. Still vibrates - out of round. When I rotate front to back - better but not perfect. It is also apparent they will NOT get the mileage stated. Will NOT buy Defenders anymore. Lot of money for a tire that did not turn out all that great. Did not think this would happen with a Michelin!

Aug 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dry Rot NEW
by: Ray Goodwin

Tires with almost 40k miles , 4.25 years old are UN-repairable, due to dry rot on the shoulders. Poor quality from manufacturer. Pro-rating for replacement is unacceptable.

Aug 26, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vibrations
by: Akhanan

I checked out many cars ( I am a licenced mechanic) in my search for a used vehicle. Finally really loved a fantacstic Toyota Camery - instead had to buy a Honda Accord - simply because of vibrtion that I could not attribute to anything else but Michelin Tires on it - not a balance problem. HAd slight uneven wear patterns. Vibration speed would also vary - 110 km to 140 km/ hr. - I suspected out of round tire - similar to a shifted belt. Tire would also heat up unevenly after a fast long ride.

Jan 20, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vibration
by: Anonymous

Have had 9 new defender tires on my odyessey , only paid for 4 but dealer cannot get vibration out of van. New suspenion, new brakes,I took van to front end shop , they said it was in the tires . out of rond.Tires will always balance .but out of round to much causes vibration at various speeds.Is it to much to ask for ROUND tires. Still have vibration ,wish I had never used these tires ,Next step back to dealer. number 10?

Jan 20, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vibration
by: Anonymous

Have had 9 new defender tires on my odyessey , only paid for 4 but dealer cannot get vibration out of van. New suspenion, new brakes,I took van to front end shop , they said it was in the tires . out of rond.Tires will always balance .but out of round to much causes vibration at various speeds.Is it to much to ask for ROUND tires. Still have vibration ,wish I had never used these tires ,Next step back to dealer. number 10?

Jan 20, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vibration
by: Anonymous

Have had 9 new defender tires on my odyessey , only paid for 4 but dealer cannot get vibration out of van. New suspenion, new brakes,I took van to front end shop , they said it was in the tires . out of rond.Tires will always balance .but out of round to much causes vibration at various speeds.Is it to much to ask for ROUND tires. Still have vibration ,wish I had never used these tires ,Next step back to dealer. number 10?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Michelin Tires.