NEW Michelin LTX M/S Sidewall Blowouts

These LTX M/S tires were recommended to me and positioned as "outstanding replacement tires" by the Michelin help line. This was for my 2008 Class C Winnebago RV. I had 6 tires installed. At 3550 mi (<2/32" wear), 1 of the rear tires blew out the side wall where the tread is capped to the side wall (Sunday afternoon, middle of Iowa). Since I had to use a roadside tire sevice to replace it on the highway, I didn't get a chance to inspect the other tires.

About 300 miles later, another tire blew out the side wall in the same way. This time I was near a tire store. Upon close inspection, one other tire sidewall was on the brink of blowing, and yet another was showing major cracks in the sidewall in the location where the others blew. At that point, I had the 2 remaining "good" tires replaced out of fear.

I contacted the "RV person" at Michelin and informed him of the build week/year and described the situations and potential horrific outcome. The next day, he told me that he had contacted the dealers who had changed my tires. His conclusion based on no data was that the cause was "sudden air loss." He had no concern whatsoever about what CAUSED the "sudden air loss." I told him that the I checked the tires daily to ensure they were at 78 psig. I offered to send him all of the high res close up photos that I took of the blown and nearly blown tires. He had no desire to get these.

This absolutely amazed me. Being an automotive engineer in a management position with over 30 years experience myself, I would have certainly wanted to determine the root cause; potentially get others off of those tires in order to save not only lives, but a possible massive lawsuit; and protect the reputation of Michelin. The Michelin RV Rep had no desire to do any of these. All that he would offer was a "good will discount" if I wanted to BUY another set of Michelins. If anyone has these tires (build 1018), you should have them checked immediately. My photos will be posted on the web soon!

Comments for NEW Michelin LTX M/S Sidewall Blowouts

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 05, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Michelin Defender
by: Anonymous

I purchased my defenders in October of 2018 for my 07 Avalanche. I had them rotated in June 19 after around 6K miles. On September 3rd 2019, I was driving on a smooth highway at 68 MPH, and KABOOOM, the loudest sound I've ever heard while driving. I was in the right lane, and it was my driver side rear tire, so I was able to pull off safely. When they pulled the tire off, two other areas had chipping/flaking on the inside wall of the tire, and the area that blew was a perpendicular crack from tread to rim. There was a ton of dust in the tire. They said " you hit a pothole". I said, "I hit three potholes?". Buy road hazard with these tires. I'm hoping it was only this one tire! Fingers crossed.

Aug 12, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blown Michelin tire on new RAV 4
by: Anonymous

My daughter just had her rear tire blow on the freeway with a brand new RAV 4. Luckily no accident at rush hour. The dealership stated faulty tire. Never knew the history on this post. Thanks for posting. Absolutely dangerous! Thank

Aug 12, 2019
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blown Michelin tire on new RAV 4 NEW
by: Anonymous

My daughter just had her rear tire blow on the freeway with a brand new RAV 4. Luckily no accident at rush hour. The dealership stated faulty tire. Never knew the history on this post. Thanks for posting. Absolutely dangerous! Thank

Sep 14, 2018
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another Michelin sidewall blow-out NEW
by: Mike Bartman

On a 2017 Buick Envision with factory tires, i.e. Michelin Premier LTX All-Season Radial Tire - 225/60R18, going approximately 60mph on a smooth highway, the sidwall of my rear tire blew out. The tires were inflated to the proper pressure (the vehicle has a TPMS). The tires had approximately 7000 miles on them. The selling dealer would not do anything as they indicated that there is no warranty. The Michelin web-site indicates there is a warranty for defects in materials and workmanship, but I am unsure how to demonstrate this was a defective tire.

If you have any information, I can be contacted at: mike_b_ceo@yahoo.com


May 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LTX 225/75 r16 M/S Blowout here too! NEW
by: Tom Morgan

Weight ratings and speed complied with, on my Class b+ RV, the outside right rear blew out for no reason last week (5/1/2015). At 60MPH straight on good asphalt on interstate rated at 70mph at 11pm, I noticed a regular roughness while driving on smooth pavement. After slowing the vehicle to determine whether road or tire related roughness, at about 45 mph the tire described above "pop'd" or blew out. The blowout damage was perpendicular across the tire. This tire had less than 10,000 miles and tread was remarkably excellent. No reason was given for the blowout, i.e. could have been bad production or bad radial bands. Tire had not had any history of off-road use nor abusive use while traveling. So, to say the least, I AM NOT IMPRESSED with these tires! Although, I am not brand conscious, I will be now. And, your website post is appreciated to help me understand this phenomenon.
morganlawoffice@aol.com

May 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LTX 225/75 r16 M/S Blowout here too! NEW
by: Tom Morgan

Weight ratings and speed complied with, on my Class b+ RV, the outside right rear blew out for no reason last week (5/1/2015). At 60MPH straight on good asphalt on interstate rated at 70mph at 11pm, I noticed a regular roughness while driving on smooth pavement. After slowing the vehicle to determine whether road or tire related roughness, at about 45 mph the tire described above "pop'd" or blew out. The blowout damage was perpendicular across the tire. This tire had less than 10,000 miles and tread was remarkably excellent. No reason was given for the blowout, i.e. could have been bad production or bad radial bands. Tire had not had any history of off-road use nor abusive use while traveling. So, to say the least, I AM NOT IMPRESSED with these tires! Although, I am not brand conscious, I will be now. And, your website post is appreciated to help me understand this phenomenon.
morganlawoffice@aol.com

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Michelin Tires.